What does good digital design look like to you?

As Battlefield one was released for a week long beta, I was satisfied to say that the game has a phenomenally good design principle that makes the present-day player go back into time to experience and partake the World War I combat as a first person shooter. The well-designed digital inferences make me feel more human. The design itself brings out my emotional bond that is established to a certain design that also brings out loyalty. I believe that this idea explains why there are players who remains loyal to the PlayStation platform or the Xbox platform. Once a connection is established to a platform with their own unique design or games, loyalty is made to follow on the next newer generation of the platform. Not many players will hesitate to pick a different platform because they simply can. Digital design is capable of bringing out a trait from a person where idiosyncrasy can be formed.

For example, this battlefield one digital inference made me feel some sense of pride facing more close combat styles with the less futuristic weapons, having the actual world war I weapons that I’ve played with as a little kid on a different game and that does bring connection between the digital design since it is to today’s quality where I can continue to experience some of my childhood once again.

5 thoughts on “What does good digital design look like to you?

  1. I hope the UI is better than their last release, because their take on Star Wars Battlefront had a messy, messy design. The only unified design principle behind it seemed to be “minimalism is cool, right?” It also actively detracted from the authenticity of the Star Wars experience, as the font choices and colors used in the UI and menus are atrocious and entirely dissonant.
    Is that a problem in Battlefield 1? Or have they better fit the design to the time period and aesthetic?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve never played or watched Star Wars Battlefront. After your comment, I watched some of their game plays and I could sense some resemblances between the two games. I really do agree with you completely about how the principle behind it seemed to be “minimalism is cool, right?” During the beta I felt like the developers tried too hard to meet the gamer’s expectations since the game got so much attention, more than they originally expected. I know that from the beta there were many complaints but the developers are open with the feedback so that they can work on it before the official release. Hopefully some changes will be done. From my experience, I enjoyed the game mostly because of their design and the authenticity of guns used in the period. That just satisfied me right away because for so long futuristic game such as Black Ops 3 and Advanced Warfare have been going on where they use jet packs in a map of a colorful amusement park. Those concept annoyed me. It was just time to go back in time.

      Like

  2. I did not get a chance to play the Battlefield One beta but I have heard good reviews so far. I like how you played console loyalty into the digital design and I thought it was an interesiting hypothesis to come up with. I, personally, am an Xbox fan and I grew up playing the Halo series. It never occurred to me that my loyalty to Xbox and Halo could be due to the design but now that I think about it, it kind of makes sense.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I also played the Halo series when I was a kid so this is some of reasons why I stuck with the xbox generations. I feel like the game made the console stand out from the others during the time. #TeamXbox

      Like

  3. Interesting that you guys mentioned the similarities in User Interface design between Battlefield ‘1’ and SW Battlefront (EA)! It has to be mentioned though that both SW:BF (EA) and BF are created by the same developer, DICE, which has had lots of experience with creating menus and interfaces from in game to browser menus over the decade. I grew up playing Nintendo GameCube, and then moved to PC, while still playing and owning XBoxs and PSs. I don’t know if its like this on console, but I noticed that the menu for the later titles from DICE (for example; BF3 or BF4) use a browser launcher. This can be confusing at times, as your server browser and multiplayer stats, as well as friends list are all in the browser, while they decided to give the single player campaign a full in game menu. I’m not sure why DICE decided to do so, but i miss the in game multiplayer UI, such as we saw in SW:BF(EA). -well…SW:BF(EA) multiplayer menu may be useless…but it sure looks pretty =) (also BF(EA) didn’t have a single player campaign in the traditional sense…=( )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment